PRESS RELEASE: 21 May 2015


Secret Friend Releases Album August 14

Sleeper, Secret Friend’s second self-produced album set to release August 14th, melds psychedelic ambiance and electronica with soft layers of acoustic pop melodies. “Blue Sky” inspires a dream like state of mind further illustrated throughout Secret Friend’s upcoming album.

Steven Fox, the man behind Secret Friend, has been involved in the music industry since the 80’s, although his skill and desire for music production have lied dormant for the majority of his adult life. In search of spiritual awakening through the use of Ayahuasca, Fox visited Peru in the summer of 2013 and returned with a greater confidence in himself as well as an evolution reflected in his music. Sleeper represents the revival of this dream, and through Secret Friend, a revival of Fox’s soul. Weaving acoustic guitar riffs into an ecosphere of psychedelia and electronic vibrations, Fox’s newest album illuminates a vivid picture in the listener’s mind of all the beauty nature has to offer.

Written before the production of his first album, Sleeper’s opening track and first single “Blue Sky” features the dreamlike voice of Kelly Jones alongside a fusion of acoustic guitar, vocal harmony stacks, and eclectic electronic production. “At the time,” Fox states, “I wanted to do something more complex with that song, but I hadn’t yet developed the skills to understand precisely what that would be, or how to make it happen. After Peru, everything fell into place.” With lyrics fit perfectly for the theme of Sleeper, “Blue Sky” invites listeners on a daydream into the mind of Secret Friend.

Sleeper Track Listing

  1. Blue Sky
  2. Something’s Happening
  3. Anyway How
  4. Any Day Now
  5. I Don’t Know You
  6. Diving In a Sea of Light
  7. Orbital Velocity
  8. And Ever
  9. Nobody Listens
  10. Do You?